Prof. Senaratne- General President of the SLAAS

    The   Sri Lanka Association of the Advancement of Science (SLAAS)  is one of the oldest premier scientific institutions in Sri Lanka established in 1944  with a present membership of over 11,000. Prof. Ranjith Senaratne, Chairman of the NSF, was  inducted as the   General President  of the SLAAS - 2023  by the outgoing General President  Prof. Manuj C. Weerasinghe   at an  induction ceremony held  on the 12th January at the Ariyana Reach  Hotel, Maharagama.  

    Prof. Narada Warnasuriya,  Senior Professor of Paediatrics, Faculty of Medicine, Sir John Kotelawala Defence University and former Vice–Chancellor, University of Sri Jayewardenepura, was the chief guest and Professor Emerita Ruchira Cumaranatunga, founder Dean, Faculty of Fisheries and Marine Sciences & Technology, University of Ruhuna, was the guest of honour of this occasion. 

    Distinguished scientists, academics and entrepreneurs, including Senior Prof. Chandana Udawatta, Vice Chairman, UGC,  Mr. Rizvi Zaheed, Chairnan, Agripreneurs' Forum, past General Presidents of the SLASS, its past and present council members and  SLAAS members were   present on the occasion.

    Prof. Senaratne is the 82nd General President of the SLAAS and it  will result in  greater interaction between the NSF and the SLAAS in a mutually rewarding and beneficial manner to advance the cause of S&T for national development and common good.

    View the embedded image gallery online at:


    Ruhuna MBBS Programme Obtains Sri Lanka Medical Council Accreditation for Another Five

    Sri Lanka Medical Council Accreditation Unit made its re-accreditation visit to Faculty of Medicine, Universityof Ruhuna in August 2022. The five-member review team comprising Prof. Chrishantha Abeysena (Professor in Public Health, Faculty of Medicine, University of Kelaniya), Prof. P.H. Dissanayake(Professor in Anatomy, Faculty of Medical Sciences, University of Sri Jayewardenepura),Prof. K.N. Marambe (Professor in Medical Education, Faculty of Medicine, University of Peradeniya), Prof. Rasnayaka Mudiyanse (Professor in Pediatrics, Faculty of Medicine, University of Peradeniya), Prof. S. Sivaganesh (Professor in Surgery, Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo) conducted site visits for three days. Having considered nine criteria, Accreditation Unit and Sri Lanka Medical Council of Sri Lanka have granted accreditation for the MBBS programme for another five year period from 25.10.20221o 25.10.2027.


    Oration of the Annual Pre Congress-Session of Perinatal Society of Sri Lanka was delivered by Senior Professor Sujeewa Amarasena, the Vice Chancellor of University of Ruhuna on 4th November 2022 at Hotel Galadari Colombo


    View the embedded image gallery online at:

    Page 1 of 15

    © 2023 Department of Computer Science. All Rights Reserved.