## Sri Lanka Economics Research Conference (SLERC) 2014 The structure of the Organising Committee

	Committee	Assigned task / responsibility	Members
1	Action Committee	Assigned task / responsibility  1. Preparing a proposal for stake holders' contribution  2. Planning the conference, assigning tasks and supervising other committees  3. Preparing the conference budget  4. Creating the conference web site and the common e-mail address  5. Communicating with all relevant parties (correspondence with university authorities, paper presenters, reviewers, SLFUE, etc. by letters, e-mails, etc.)  6. Creating templates for abstracts, review reports etc.  7. Initial publicity  8. Calling for papers  9. Finding reviewers  10. Compiling conference proceedings / abstracts  11. Publishing abstracts  12. Organising inauguration session  13. Dealing with mass media	Members Chair-SLERC, Head, Department of Economics, University of Ruhuna Dr. B M Sumanarathne Coordinator-SLERC Dr. A J M Chandradasa Members Prof. D Atapattu Prof. P Vithanage Mr. I R Priyantha Dr. U Abeyrathne Dr. D A L H Shammika Mr. N Kurukulasooriya Mr. N Keembiyahetti Mr. C Gunasinghe Mr. N Wijesinghe Co-secretaries-SLERC Ms. I R Akurugoda Ms. U Kariyawasam
2	Fund Raising Committee	<ol> <li>Preparing letters and documents for fund raising</li> <li>Conversing with potential bodies</li> <li>Opening and maintaining a bank account</li> <li>Keeping financial reports</li> </ol>	Chair-SLERC, Head, Department of Economics, University of Ruhuna Dr. B M Sumanarathne  Coordinator-SLERC Dr. A J M Chandradasa  Members Prof. D Atapattu Prof. P Dayananada Prof. P Vithanage Dr. D A L H Shammika

3	Conference Committees	<ul> <li>1) Accommodation Committee</li> <li>a. Providing accommodation for foreign &amp; local presenters &amp; invitees</li> <li>b. Providing transport: hotel to conference venue and back to hotel (if requested)</li> <li>c. Providing transport from/to airport (if requested)</li> <li>d. Providing food /other facilities during the stay</li> </ul>	Chair-Accommodation Committee Mr. S K Dervin  Members Mr. Emil Perera Mr. Saman Udayakantha
		<ul> <li>2) Food &amp; Refreshment Committee</li> <li>a. Catering food/refreshments         for all registered participants         and invitees during inaugural         session and conference         sessions</li> <li>b. Arranging waste disposal</li> </ul>	Chair-Food & Refreshment Committee Prof. P Dayananda  Members Mr. A A Shantha Mr. H K Sarath Mrs. S Rajapaksha
		a. Preparing session schedule / time table b. Appointing and arranging session chair / panellist / guest speakers and keeping communication with all relevant parties c. Preparing and handing over invitations & car passes d. Obtaining relevant approvals e. Creating and issuing identity cards/name cards to guest speakers, presenters, session chairs f. Keeping records on registration g. Maintaining registration / information desk and handling inquiries / directing participants to sessions h. Duplicating required numbers of documents and preparing conference packs i. Arranging relevant documents	Chair-Session Committee Dr. B M Sumanarthne  Members Dr. U Abeyrathne Mr. I R Priyantha Dr. D A L H Shammika Mrs. E Lelwala Mr. C Gunasinghe

ın	session	rooms

- 4) Session Logistic Committee
  - a. Display conference banners at the main entrance, university premises, on the stage and in session rooms
  - b. Hoisting national flags,
     University flags & sponsors'
     banners
  - c. Arranging seats in the inauguration hall and session rooms
  - d. Arranging flowers at the entrance, stage & session rooms
  - e. Arranging audio visual settings (multimedia / sound system / white board / marker pens etc.)
  - f. Preparing name boards on the head table & session tables
  - g. Displaying directions and sign boards
  - h. Providing technical support for presenters
  - i. Providing sanitary facilities for participants
  - j. Arranging parking facilities

Chair-Session Logistic Committee Prof. P Vithanage

Members

Dr. U Abeyrathne

Mr. Emil Perera

Mr. S Abeywarna

Mr. N Wijesinghe

Mr. N Kurukulasooriya

Mr. A A Shantha

Mr. N Keembiyahetti